Read It Was You: The Must-Read Romantic Comedy (English Edition) by Jo Platt Online

it-was-you-the-must-read-romantic-comedy-english-edition

When life falls apart, friendship will keep you togetherAlice Waiteshas been happily single for almost two years.When her close friends in The Short Book Group gently question her current distinct lack of interest in men, she accepts that maybe it is time to deal with the past and open herself up to new possibilities.Oh yes, the time has come to go dating again.However, things soon unravel for Alice as she uncovers the secret heartache and hopes of those around her And her most surprising discovery is the life changing truth which she has kept hidden, even from herselfPerfect for readers of Milly Johnson, Jojo Moyes or Mhairi McFarlane,It Was Youis the fast, funny and touching story of one womans journey towards love Praise for Reading Upside Down by Jo Platt Brilliant brilliant brilliant what a brilliant book, thoroughly recommended Joe I really enjoyed this book and it genuinely made me laugh out loud I loved it and can t wait to read from this great writer Juliet So good I ve given it another spin Nicholas I loved everything about this gem of a novel, and was hooked from the very first page KA Clarke I simply loved this book Jo s effortless comedy had me laughing out loud on numerous occasions It s as dry as a stick and a welcome change from some of the traditional chicklit novels K Jones Charming, hilarious and very enjoyable So easy to read yet fast paced, you ll not want to put it down Definitely recommended Charlie I loved this book Very funny with a few twists and warm moments Highly recommended if you love a light uplifting and very funny read Sarah Jo Platt was born in Liverpool in 1968 and, via the extremely winding route of rural Wiltshire, London, Seattle and St Albans, she is now happily settled in Bristol with her husband and two daughters She studied English at King s College London before going on to work in the City for ten years In 2000 she escaped into motherhood and part time employment, first as an assistant teacher in a Seattle pre school and then was a Bristol based secretary to her husband....

Title : It Was You: The Must-Read Romantic Comedy (English Edition)
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : B01KTUS7IC
ISBN13 : -
Format Type : EPub
Language : Englisch
Publisher : Canelo 31 Oktober 2016
Number of Pages : 379 Pages
File Size : 570 KB
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

It Was You: The Must-Read Romantic Comedy (English Edition) Reviews

  • B. Serles
    2019-05-04 03:14

    Alle Leute im Buch sind immer total nett und lieb und süss. Gibt wenig Ecken und Kanten oder Tiefen zu entdecken, die Hauptdarstellerin braucht das GANZE Buch lang um endlich draufzukommen dass sie in den besten Freund verliebt ist. Ziemlich mühsam und nicht besonders aufregend.

  • FS
    2019-05-05 00:30

    Lieber Emma von Jane Austen lesen. Die Geschichte ist einfach nicht so spannend. Wer Emma noch nicht kennt, könnte es lesen.

  • Kindle-klant
    2019-05-02 03:40

    If I could I would give this book ten stars! If English was my native language I would write an essay about how good this book is. But that would rather defeat the object, who reads essays on amazon? Suffice it to say: this book is good, oh so funny and very kind.The plot is quite simple: Alice is single for quite some time. To end that she asks her Short Book Group members to help with dates. It’s a wakeup call for Alice; not only does she start to see her own life in a new way, she also notices new sides to her Short Book Group friends.We have seen this plot done so very many times, but the way it’s done that’s what makes this book, well, great. It excels at being very English: the innate urge of being polite and the also innate urge to be happy clash from the beginning to the very end. Platt draws the world of pain and discomfort polite people live in who strive not to startle and hurt the often very crude and direct. The means Ms Platt uses is that of the understatement. One time Alice is invited by a date to a battle re-enactment. She is adamant: she doesn’t want to go, she doesn’t like her date and she doesn’t like battle. So... she goes. Because what a disappointment it would be to her date, her friend, the world so hello battle re-enactment, rain, mud, male costume, cold, odd date.Next to a good eye for the discomfort of the polite there is also a very sharp eye for the peculiar. And we all are that: peculiar. That by the way is a good thing according to Ms Platt because it gives us great interaction. For example we have Sophie Alice’s colleague. She is direct, abrasive and has a very good heart. One of her projects is her boss David who seems to be incapable of saying no to pushy, obtrusive and all round dislikeable women. To divert the attentions of such a creature she tells her David is gay. David denies it to the woman in question and entangles himself again in an awful date. Then this dialogue ensues:‘Honestly David!’ I could see Sophie, standing by her desk and in full flow. ‘What do I have to do? Tell me. What do I have to do? I had warned her off. You were safe. All you had to do was say, “Yes, that’s right. I’m gay.” But no.’ She threw up her hands in exasperation. ‘You’re thirty-seven, David. Thirty-seven! And yet still not enough of a man to say you’re gay.’Ms Platt reminds me of Jane Austen. No psychological analyses, just dialogue and observation, and oh does that make us weird and laughable. But in a good way though. Platt though is much kinder than Austen. But both writers make clear that the meek do inherit the earth but boy do they make it hard for themselves to live in it.

  • Ms. Erin D. Buttermore
    2019-05-05 02:41

    I do hope Jo Platt is working on her next novel, because I’m desperate for more! This one is a little more poignant than her other two, but still offers laughs, love and friendship. As much as I enjoyed the love story, I think I enjoyed the friendship story even more. Everyone should have a warm, supportive, well-meaning group of friends like the Short Book Club. More please, Jo!

  • barbara king
    2019-05-08 05:28

    loved it keeps you guessing to the end loved it loved it laugh out loud in public funny my first book by this author already have 2 more lined up great characters good pace keeps you guessing to the end.

  • Jill-in-the-box
    2019-05-19 06:36

    Jo Platt I love your books. I read three one after the other and now there are no more. Didn't want it to end - tried to drag it out! Some books are good with some boring & samey, yawny parts. NOT YOURS. Can't wait for the next one