Read The Medusa Chronicles by Alastair Reynolds Online

the-medusa-chronicles

Inspired by Sir Arthur C Clarke s short story A Meeting with Medusa, this novel, with permission from the Clarke Estate, continues the story of Commander Howard Falcon over centuries of space exploration, interaction with AI, first contact and beyond All brought to life by two of our greatest SF authors, Stephen Baxter and Alastair Reynolds.Howard Falcon almost lost his life in an accident and a combination of human ingenuity and technical expertise brought him back Not as himself, but as an augmented human part man, part machine, and exceptionally capable.The Medusa Chronicles charts his journey through time, the changing interaction between humanity and our universe, and combined moments of incredible action with unparalleled exploration of and expansion into space A compelling read from the beginning, this is classic SF which has appeal for readers who like Gravity and The Martian....

Title : The Medusa Chronicles
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781473210202
ISBN13 : 978-1473210202
Format Type : Hardback
Language : Englisch
Publisher : Gollancz 12 Januar 2017
Number of Pages : 336 Seiten
File Size : 774 KB
Status : Available For Download
Last checked : 21 Minutes ago!

The Medusa Chronicles Reviews

  • Stefano Manzetti
    2018-11-21 08:39

    I have read many books from Alastair Reynolds and to me he is one of the two greatest contemporary sci-fi authors together with Peter F. Hamilton. So i was looking forward to this book. I know it's based on Arthur C. Clarke's work and it's written together with Stephen Baxter, but I'm very disappointed. While the plot is interesting, the execution is basic. Everything is too simple and all the major plot points develop so quickly that you have the impression this is a script for a cheap movie or a novel for teenagers. It is sci-fi but the science part is almost completely missing and the main facts are not explained at all or are written in such a simple way that they lack credibility. If you're a fan of Reynold's work, skip this book

  • WODISTU
    2018-12-14 10:37

    Spannend geschrieben, aber meines Erachtens doch eher was für Insider. Man sollte schon das Vorgängerwerk kennen, sonst erschließt sich das Buch nur bedingt. Die Relativierung des Standpunktes der Hauptfigur ist jedoch erfrischend modern.

  • Markus
    2018-12-02 13:57

    Always been a big fan of Arthur C. Clarkes writing so this homage by two of my favorite modern SF writers had me excited right away.Reynolds fantastic ability to build convincingly intricate and overwhelmingly big scenarios paired with Baxters character building is really striking.I loved how they managed to bring back the feeling of awe inspiring exploration of grand, unfamiliar environments, reminiscing of Clarkes Rendevouz with Rama. Really loved this from beginning to end. Hope there will be more.

  • Tghu Verd
    2018-12-13 11:01

    The afterword notes a direct homage to Arthur C. Clarke's short "A Meeting with Medusa" but for me this this evocative novel drew more from Iain M. Banks' detailed world building and the centuries spanning ennui of Kim Stanley Robinson's Mars Trilogy than the late great SciFi Master.Our protagonist is Commander Howard Falcon, a character directly taken from Clarke, cyborg adventurist who after a full and active life tries to sit on the sidelines but is repeatedly drawn into conflicts as the necessary trusted 'third party' that both sides respect and will listen to. It is a role that incrementally grates on Falcon but each iteration of apparent Statesman is pressed upon him with increasing levels of coercion as conditions in the solar system become ever more inimical to human life and Falcon is forced to consider how his actions may have led to that.Like in Banks' Culture novels, the technology that underpins Falcon's universe is generally deployed rather than explained. And for the most part it is not at the level of world shattering weaponry we usually find in a Reynolds story, but more human-level tech such as the various robotic bodies that carry Falcon through the centuries. There is also a nice backstory from the early days of NASA that sets the scene for the politics that drive the characters.This is not an action-adventure novel in the traditional sense. It moves along at a reasonable pace, but it is the pace of one man living a long time while the world occasionally pivots on his shoulders, so there is a languid nature to the plot. Each chapter does not end on an obvious cliffhanger and for the time period spanned, the cast of characters is actually quite limited. All of which might suggest a boring read, but Reynolds and Baxter are experienced story tellers so "The Medusa Chronicles" never dips below the threshold of interesting. The characters are well drawn and the death of one - even though it was clearly going to happen chapters before the event - evoked a sense of loss.If you like intelligent, thoughtful sci-fi that explores our moral compass and place in the universe and which slowly builds to a satisfying ending, then you will likely really enjoy "The Medusa Chronicles". I certainly did.

  • Richard Irwin
    2018-12-03 11:01

    Although the book started a bit slowly and was taking place in an alternative history it eventually became an awe-inducing adventure ride into future realms of science. Oh yeah, I liked it!It is actually a sequel to Arthur C Clarke's award winning novella, "A Meeting With Medusa", but you don't really need to read this story. In addition to the sentient Medusae within Jupiter's upper atmosphere we also encounter sentient chimps, sentient Machines, and another sentient race within Jupiter.The reluctant hero of this book is Howard Falcon, who due to a tragic accident is a cyborg. This story chronicles his long life and his attempts to mediate the conflict between Man and Machines. And to top it off the book has a great and very satisfying ending.

  • johcafra
    2018-12-08 08:41

    So reads the dust jacket review by another author...and I'll agree that it truly is.The story by Arthur C. Clarke on which this is based merits the label "classic." If you've not read that story, do seek, find and read first. Clarke's short fiction provided my effective introduction to the genre so very long ago. I don't read nearly as much in the genre as I used to.I've read some by Baxter and not nearly as much by Reynolds. I got the distinct impression each tried as best he could to emulate Clarke's style. Homages abound both in the main plot and sub-plots. Towards the end it gets just a touch Stapledonian, but that's in keeping with the conflict that the protagonist Howard Falcon faces throughout the centuries, and possibly an homage to 2001: A Space Odyssey. Of course Jupiter figures mightily in the telling of the story.One very minor quibble but a quibble nonetheless: The story is set in an alternate timeline that occasionally jars the narrative. There are references to John Young (he of Gemini, Apollo and the Space Shuttle) being the first human to have walked on Mars. And Baxter had to have contributed a sub-sub-plot that reminded me more of his novels Voyage and Titan.